Texas A&M wins the Race to 100K!

Posted by Brad, Chief Explosion Officer

WOW! When BlueFuego created the Race to 100K, we had anticipated a close race between Texas A&M and LSU.  We could not believe it when the Aggie Nation reached the 100,000 fan mark a mere 90 seconds before LSU, capping off a monumental comeback over over 17,000 fans in less than 36 hours. (That’s almost 8 fans a minute for 1.4 days. Another way to look at it: For the past 14 days, they’ve gained 2.5 new fans per minute.)  The 50,000 new fans on the TAMU Facebook page are more than all but 2 schools in the nation have on their entire page. Think about it… TAMU’s new fans this week would make the top 5 pages in the nation on their own! Texas A&M gained more fans in one week than 99% of colleges and universities have on their Facebook Fan Page. Quite the accomplishment! Congrats again from BlueFuego on winning 100,000 pennies.  They truly proved it this week…. don’t mess with Texas!

We quickly sent the 100,000 pennies to TAMU for their Scholarship Fund, and a special ceremony to celebrate the win was held last week on campus. They posted pictures on their Facebook page, here are a few from the album.

The "100K Pennies at Sully Ceremony" celebrated the great show of Aggie Spirit in the Race to 100K Fans on Facebook.
Texas A&M Interim President R. Bowen Loftin, Class of 71, congratulates students.
Texas A&M Interim President R. Bowen Loftin, Class of '71, congratulates students.

Another big congrats from BlueFuego to TAMU for their photo finish on the Race to 100K, and to LSU for being the second school to cross the 100K mark.  If you missed the finale, check out http://bluefuego.com/race for the video recap of the event. To all other schools continuing their march to 100K, good luck!

Did you find this article useful? Why not share it with your friends?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>